Mohammad Shami Honored with Arjuna Award by President Murmu

A Proud Recognition of Cricket Excellence in the Presence of President Droupadi Murmu

Mohammad Shami, a crucial member of the Indian teams that secured runner-up positions in the WTC and ODI World Cup, demonstrated his exceptional bowling prowess by claiming an impressive 24 wickets in just seven World Cup appearances last year.

Mohammed Shami’s Arjuna Award

  • Awarded on Tuesday, in recognition of outstanding achievements in sports.
  • Acknowledged for contributions to the Indian cricket team’s success in the World Test Championship and the ODI World Cup.

Performance Highlights

  • Mohammad Shami stood out as the leading wicket-taker in the ODI World Cup hosted in India, claiming an impressive 24 wickets in just seven matches.
  • Played a pivotal role in India’s runner-up finishes in both the World Test Championship and the ODI World Cup.

Social Media Announcement

  • Shared a video of the award ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan on social media.
  • Expressed pride and gratitude for being honored with the prestigious Arjuna Award by the President.

Mohammed Shamis Thankful Message

  • Thanked those who supported him throughout his journey, including his coach, BCCI, teammates, family, staff, and fans.
  • Committed to giving his best to make the country proud in the future.

Shami’s Stupendous Show: Clinches 24 Wickets in ICC World Cup 2023, Bowling Brilliance Unleashed!

Other Awardees

  • Other notable awardees included wrestler Antim Panghal, boxer Mohammad Hussamuddin, and athlete Parul Chaudhary.
  • Shuttlers Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty received the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award for their outstanding achievements in badminton.

Arjuna Awardees 2023

  • Provided a comprehensive list of Arjuna Awardees for 2023 across various sports.
  • Represents a diverse range of talents and accomplishments in different athletic disciplines.

Shuttlers’ Achievements

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty achieved milestones in 2023, winning their maiden Asian Games gold, the Asian Championships title, and the Indonesia Open Super 1000 title.

Recognition of Athletes

  • The awards highlight the dedication and excellence of Indian athletes in various sports.
  • Reflects the government’s commitment

Historic Badminton Achievement

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty’s Asian Games gold marked a historic achievement for India in badminton.

Here is the list of Arjuna Awards for 2023:

  • Ojas Pravin Deotale (archery)
  • Aditi Gopichand Swami (archery)
  • Murali Sreeshankar (athletics)
  • Parul Chaudhary (athletics)
  • Mohammad Hussamuddin (boxing)
  • R Vaishali (chess)
  • Mohammad Shami (cricket)
  • Anush Agarwalla (equestrian)
  • Divyakriti Singh (equestrian dressage)
  • Diksha Dagar (golf)
  • Krishan Bahadur Pathak (hockey)
  • Sushila Chanu (hockey)
  • Pawan Kumar (kabaddi)
  • Ritu Negi (kabaddi)
  • Nasreen (kho-kho)
  • Pinki (lawn bowls)
  • Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (shooting)
  • Esha Singh (shooting)
  • Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (squash)
  • Ayhika Mukherjee (table tennis)
  • Sunil Kumar (wrestling)
  • Antim Panghal (wrestling)
  • Naorem Roshibina Devi (wushu)
  • Sheetal Devi (para archery)
  • Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (blind cricket)
  • Prachi Yadav (para canoeing)


  • The awards ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan celebrated the achievements of athletes across multiple sports.
  • Showcases the diversity and depth of talent in Indian sports, motivating athletes to strive for excellence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *